top of page
  • hlcpennington

Playing Catch Up #2 - Volleyball Specific Workout?

I remember this week and this workout kicked my butt! I did some research on a volleyball specific workout and took what I could from links. Thankfully, my parents decided to buy weights to work out at home as well so I was able to use those to my advantage!

Because of my first post where my peer, Sydney, recommended The Art of Coaching Volleyball, I took a workout from there and decided to do it! (workout here)


Warm Up!

First up was a warm-up, I did a couple of dynamic stretches to make sure my body was nice and warm before I started! (stretches also by The Art of Coaching Volleyball!)

So I was supposed to pick 5-10 of the exercises from the list, and had to include one from each different component they provided (balance, core, and dynamic stretch).

I decided to go with

  1. Sumo Squats (Dynamic stretch) - I love sumo squats so these were a lot of fun!

  2. Speed Skaters (Dynamic stretch) - I also love these, they were hard to do in a small space but still fun!

  3. Backwards Hip Rotation (Balance, core) - gosh, these were so fun because the feeling of it opening my hips was actually probably one of the most freeing things (I sit quite frequently so doing this was extremely beneficial!)

  4. 'Toy Soldier' (Dynamic stretch, balance) - high kicks are so fun!

  5. Later lunge and skip (Dynamic stretch) - another one that allowed me to open up my range of motion and felt really good to do!

Workout!

Now for the workout! They recommended 10 exercises that I went through and did. I really like doing it with weights so it was a lot of fun for me, hard but fun and rewarding!


Good mornings (3 sets of 10)


Single leg RDL to overhead press (3 sets of 10)



Lunge with a twist (3 sets of 16, 8 each side)


Lateral lunge with a press (3 sets of 20, 10 each side)


Dumbbell snatch (3 sets of 8)

Dumbbell pullover (3 sets of 12)

Dumbbell squat to press (3 sets of 16-20)

10-and-2 drops

Biceps with overhead press (3 sets of 8)



Cooldown!

After this point, I was so exhausted! For a cooldown, I went on a small walk with my dog and stretched when I got back!


Overall, it was really nice to get back into 'weightlifting' and working out especially since the start of the pandemic, I just haven't done anything other than practice Volleyball and walking. So dedicating some time to specifically workout was a lot of fun and I might show my friends these workouts!


Thank you for joining me! One more time! もう 一回 !

2 views0 comments
bottom of page